Barnabas Coronavirus Emergency Network

Barnabas Aid has formed an emergency committee to monitor the evolving situation as the coronavirus spreads globally and how it impacts our project partners around the world, assessing how to best support them. We have an extensive network of project partners already in place, who will send us updates on a regular basis.

Barnabas Aid, working with GAFCON, is preparing an Africa-wide committee to assist in deploying relief and assistance, gathering information, making needs known, sourcing finance and supplies and ensuring reliable distribution to those in most need. To this end it is a member of the Network for African Congregational Theology, of 55 seminaries, colleges and universities, which are in a position to distribute help on the ground.

Current Coronavirus figures

Coronavirus cases:






Figures updated 28/04/20 12.57GMT

In response to the impact of the locust plague and COVID-19 on Christians, Barnabas Fund has sent

over $865,000

USD across 15 countries.

Countries represented in our Network: Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Australia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Portugal, Russia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, USA, Uzbekistan, Zambia and Zimbabwe

Current list of partners (for security reasons, some partners not listed):

  • Africa Bible College (ABC), Malawi
  • Africa International University, Kenya
  • Anglican Church in Ghana, Sunyani Diocese
  • Anglican Church of Kenya
  • Anglican Church of Nigeria, Archdiocese of Jos
  • Anglican Church of South Sudan
  • Anglican Church of Tanzania
  • Anglican Church of Uganda
  • Anglican International Development (AID), UK
  • Asia Graduate School of Theology, Nepal
  • Association for Christian Religious Practitioners, Southern Africa
  • Association for Christian Theological Education in Africa, Kenya
  • Bible College of the Evangelical Christian Baptist Union, Tajikistan 
  • Bible Media and Nehemiah Bible Institute, Africa
  • Biblica (South Africa)
  • Bishop Hannington Institute of Theology and Development, Kenya
  • Brethren Church, Pakistan
  • Carlile College, Kenya
  • Chancellor College, Malawi
  • Chorra Ministry, Ethiopia
  • Church of Ceylon, Sri Lanka
  • Church of North India
  • Church of Pakistan
  • Daystar University, Kenya
  • Dinka Congregations in Juba, South Sudan
  • Domboshava Theological College, Zimbabwe
  • Doon Bible College, India
  • Dutch Reformed Church, South Africa
  • Ecumenical Foundation of Southern Africa
  • ECWA Theological Seminary Church, Nigeria
  • Ethiopian Full Gospel Theological Seminary
  • Ethiopian Graduate School of Theology
  • Evangelical Alliance of Kenya
  • Evangelical Fellowship in the Anglican Communion (EFAC)
  • Free State University, South Africa
  • GAFCON (Global Anglican Future Conference)
  • HEFSIBA Mozambique
  • Hugenote College, South Africa
    Individual churches from the following:
    • Assemblies of God, Kyrgyzstan
    • Assemblies of God, Uzbekistan
    • Baptist Church, Kazakhstan
    • Baptist Church, Tajikistan
    • Pentecostal Church, Turkmenistan
    • Presbyterian Church, Kazakhstan
  • Instituto Bíblico de Kaluquembe – Missão Urgente, Angola
  • Instituto Superior de Teologia Evangelica no Lubango, Angola
  • Instituto Teológico da Igreja Evangélica Reformada de Angola
  • International Leadership University, Kenya
  • Jos ECWA Theological Seminary, Nigeria
  • Josophat Mwale Theological Institution, Malawi
  • Justo Mwale University (JMU), Zambia
  • Methodist Church, Ghana
  • Methodist Church, Nigeria
  • Moffat Bible College, Kenya
  • Morija Theological Seminary, Lesotho
  • Murray Theological College, Zimbabwe
  • Nairobi Baptist Church, Kenya
  • Namibia Evangelical Theological Seminary
  • Nigerian Baptist Theological Seminary
  • Nile Theological College, South Sudan
  • North West University, South Africa
  • Orthodox Theological Seminary, Kenya
  • Oxford Centre for Religion and Public Life, UK
  • Pan Africa Christian University, Kenya
  • Presbyterian Church, Southern Africa
  • Pretoria University, South Africa
  • PTHU Global Christianity, Netherlands
  • Redeemed Christian Bible College, Nigeria
  • Reformational Study Centre, Southern Africa
  • Reformed and Presbyterian Seminary, Nepal
  • Reformed Church University, Zimbabwe
  • Reformed Institute for Theological Training, Kenya
  • Reformed Mission League
  • Reformed Theological Seminary, Nigeria 
  • Rusitu Bible College, Zimbabwe
  • Scott Christian University, Kenya
  • Seminario Emanuel do Dôndi, Angola
  • Serampore College, India
  • Southern Africa Region of the Pentecostal Assemblies of Africa (4,000 congregations across 10 countries)
  • St Frumentius Abba Selama Kessate Berhan Theological College, Ethiopia
  • St John’s College of Theology and Development, South Sudan
  • St. Paul’s University, Kenya
  • Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Syriac Orthodox Church
  • The Church in the Province of the West Indies
  • The Church of Pentecost, Ghana
  • The Reformed Family Forum, Southern Africa 
  • Theological College of Northern Nigeria
  • Uganda Christian University
  • UMCA Theological College, Nigeria
  • Université Shalom de Bunia, Democratic Republic of Congo
  • University of Livingstonia, Malawi
  • World Communion of Reformed Churches
  • Zarephath Bible Seminary, Pakistan
  • Zomba Theological College, Malawi